Biphasic and polyphasic sleep patterns

Stick to training related posts.

Moderators: Dux, seeahill

Dunn
Sergeant Commanding

Biphasic and polyphasic sleep patterns

Post by Dunn » Wed May 18, 2016 1:16 pm

Took a 3rd shift spot at the ER and our babysitter has opted out of watching my son due to family emergency. This means that Mon-Thu I will be watching him. While I'm a pro at sleep deprivation, I'm trying to do this intelligently. I'm on his schedule but I'm lucky that I get home early enough to grab a 2-3 hr nap before he wakes and another slightly longer nap mid-late afternoon before work. This means an average of 5-6 hrs a day. Not great but not bad.

I've done a decent bit of reading here and there about it and the various patterns. I'm more curious about anyone's experiences with it.

Thanks.

Beer Jew
Sgt. Major

Re: Biphasic and polyphasic sleep patterns

Post by Beer Jew » Wed May 18, 2016 1:59 pm

I don't know what either of those mean, but I get more than 5.5 hours of sleep approx. one day a week. The other 6 days I average between 4-5.5 hours.

My experience - when I manage to go a week or two with proper sleep, bodyfat improves, mood improves, overall wellbeing improves, strength improves.

Shafpocalypse Now
Lifetime IGer

Post by Shafpocalypse Now » Wed May 18, 2016 5:48 pm

Almost all polyphasic sleep shit is wishful thinking. The '4-5 hours sleep + 1-2 hou nap' can work, but almost everybody who tries alternate sleep stuff feels shitty. The so called 'uberman' sleep schedule has never worked and those who claim it did are liars.

However, napping can take some of the edge off. It doesn't mean you don't adapt to it and eventually kinda feel ok.

Some folks can do without as much sleep. Some folks can't.

Grandpa's Spells
Lifetime IGer

Post by Grandpa's Spells » Wed May 18, 2016 6:11 pm