TRAINING: ARMATURA, STRENGTH & CONDITIONING and THE AGOGE!

Post your training journals here if you like. I'll make back-ups to avoid losing your data.

Moderator: Dux

DARTH
Sergeant Commanding

TRAINING: ARMATURA, STRENGTH & CONDITIONING and THE AGOGE!

Post by DARTH » Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:18 am

Dylan Thomas
5'11" 197#s 36 years old
THIS LOG is about my martial arts training of Combat/Aiki Jujutsu (4th Dan under David Lamond and the late Jim Tirey), Filipino/Indoneasian martial arts (Crosstraing student of Dave Wink) with a mix of Combatives, Boxing, prior training in other Asian arts and experimentation of unarmed and armed combative methods.

Next it is about my Strength and Conditioning training, I am a Kettlebell Instructor (RKC in 03), Certified Natural Trainer Level 1 (Monkey Bar Gym) and a Personal trainer (I make my living doing this primarily) in Northern Va.

I uses Kettlebells, Bodyweight and Bodyweight assist tools, Yoga, Barbells, dumb bells, med balls, Rucksacks, running, machines and MA drills to accomplish this for myself and clients.

Among those who have directly taught me or influenced me in this are my Mother (She owned a gym in the 80s) and Step father (He was my first MA insructor), Jim Tirey (Tought me about Rucking and combative fitness from his perspective as a SF Soldier.), Mike Mahler (More than just Kettlebells, I owe Mike alot) Steve Maxwell, Jon Hinds (I got my CNT from him and a major pardigm shift) Tom Furman and things the Ancient Greeks and Romans used to do. (Yeah I am a Histroy Junkie)

Lastly this is about my training partners and students ( Crom, Lord Stumph, Gimli Von Ram Man, Jager, Dr. Dan, Yogamama, the kids in The Agoge ect, ect) who give me a mirror to myself and I would be nothing without, so they get mentioned alot in this log.

I am not the strongest or most conditioned guy here, nor the best martial artist, but I am one well rounded guy (or I try to be) and maybe something I am doing might intrest you.