learning a language

Topics without replies are pruned every 365 days. Not moderated.

Moderator: Dux

Topic author
seeahill
Font of All Wisdom, God Damn it

learning a language

Post by seeahill »

I'm making a full run at Spanish.

There are now many good internet ways to learn the language of your choice. Many are free. If anyone is interested, I will review the methods I am using and give you my opinions. I will try to concentrate on free stuff.

If anyone is interested, I will put more ideas and sites up. One caveat, everyone learns differently. I will talk about the stuff that works for me.

So: my review of Duolingo.

Great. It's a little addictive actually. Each lesson takes about 5 minutes. Maybe more if you are an absolute novice. Teaches vocabulary in a way that is sort of like a game. Not study.. And yet, it is effective because it uses the spaced reptition system. That is, you hear a word, then repeat it. You say it, then they ask you to write it. Doesn't sound nearly as much fun as it actually is. For a few days they don't ask you that word. Then they spring it on you. Studies show that SRS works better at building vocab than anything else. Imbeds it in you memory.

But,,,

You have to do it every day. Ten minutes. For me. If you don't know the language, maybe 15 minutes. You have to do every day. 15 minutes. You learn a lot.

Cons: Not real good for speech. You are asked to talk into the mike on your computer, and they tell you if you pronounced it correctly. But I am intermediate in Spanish. I can hear when I fuck up. But they still pass me.

They tell you at stages that you are now 10% fluent in Spanish. But when you finish the whole smarootie, you will be 58% in your language. Why, because they are honest about it. You need to do more shit.

Which, if anyone is interested, I will explicate here. There's italki, where you can speak to a native speaker who wants to learn English. Free. Your English for their Pashtun, or whatever you want.