Side gigs

Topics without replies are pruned every 365 days. Not moderated.

Moderator: Dux

Topic author
Luke

Side gigs

Post by Luke »

With things the way they are, does anyone here have other income streams aside from their day job?

I'm not in dire need of extra change and have no one to support but myself, still, I seem haunted about suddenly getting old without enough to live well. With a lot of extra time these days, I'm looking at things I can get into that would be great to keep some more money coming in. However, I'm a shit driver and average navigator so getting people around or dashing food to doors I ponder twice about.

Then I think - with the way things are and all - I might not even see old or a world where it's possible to live well at all.

motherjuggs&speed

Side gigs

Post by motherjuggs&speed »

Onlyfans.com

Bram
Sergeant Commanding

Side gigs

Post by Bram »

I thought of the various people I know and if any of them had made decent money off side hustles....

A couple I know rented out three rooms in their (rented) four-bedroom house on AirBnB. At one point I believe they were making 10 grand a month. They really went above and beyond. They decorated, painted, etc. They put up a chalk map of all the fun things to do in the neighborhood (natural attractions, good restaurants, and so on). Sometimes they'd order pizzas and comp it to their guests then get a fire pit going and chill with them. Lastly, they got approved to do "AirBnB experiences." This would allow them to lead snorkeling expeditions and teach surf lessons (an extra 100$ a go). They estimated it took 20-30 hours a week of work with the cleaning, e-mail correspondence, and what not.

I've never had a side hustle, but I volunteered for a while. Just 2 hours a week. Met some really cool people and it always felt good to do something for free.